Month: June 2019

GBS students have been celebrating Eid after lessons.

Richard Bingley, Managing Director of the Global Banking School said:

“GBS Students of all backgrounds joined in the celebrations and we are grateful
to our many learners who brought in the delicious food, cakes, and
music. We wish all of our learners a peaceful and successful academic year.”

The UK has signed continuity trade agreements with non-EU countries so that trade can continue with minimal disruption after the UK leaves the EU.

Richard Bingley, Managing Director at GBS said:

“UK news coverage around Brexit is quite emotive and personalised at present; it’s quite difficult therefore to translate the macroeconomic situation. But the solidity of these UK trade arrangements and their international reach will give UK investors and employers, some confidence about future growth, as well as opportunities for diversification.”

These countries account for 63% of trade currently covered by EU agreements for which the UK is seeking continuity.

The agreements have replicated the EU trade agreements as far as possible. However, there may be some changes to ensure that new agreements work for both countries.

Signed trade agreements
The UK has signed trade agreements with:

  • Andean countries
  • CARIFORUM trade bloc
  • Chile
  • Eastern and Southern Africa (ESA) trade bloc
  • Faroe Islands
  • Iceland and Norway
  • Israel
  • Liechtenstein
  • Pacific states
  • Palestinian Authority
  • South Korea (agreed in principle and expected to sign shortly)
  • Switzerland

The countries which will be covered by the UK-Andean Countries Trade Agreement are:

  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Peru

The countries which will be covered by the UK-CARIFORUM Economic Partnership Agreement are:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • The Commonwealth of the Bahamas*
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • The Commonwealth of Dominica
  • The Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • The Republic of Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Christopher and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • The Republic of Suriname*
  • The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

*Approved in principle and expected to sign shortly

The countries which will be covered by the ESA-UK Economic Partnership Agreement are:

  • Madagascar*
  • Mauritius
  • Seychelles
  • Zimbabwe

*Approved in principle and expected to sign shortly

The countries which will be covered by the UK-Pacific Economic Partnership Agreement are:

  • Papua New Guinea
  • Fiji

Signed mutual recognition agreements

The UK has signed mutual recognition agreements with:

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • United States